APW’s Community Champions Awards, created in 2006, are given annually to those individuals in the community who “take action and effect change” in the field of substance abuse prevention and or intervention activities. Individuals can be nominated by friends or colleagues, or identified by APW staff.

    “We are so excited about these awards and the positive response that we receive from the community in participating in the nomination process” said Pamela Mautte, Director of APW. “The work that is being done to help prevent substance abuse, on the grass-roots, community level, is so critical to our efforts to keep our kids safe from tobacco, alcohol and drug abuse and these awards will help spotlight and applaud those efforts.”

    The Community Champions Awards are supported on a national level by General Mills. As the makers of Wheaties cereal, General Mills creates special memorial Wheaties cereal boxes featuring pictures of each award winner.

    To nominate someone for the 2017 Community Champions Awards, click here to download and print a nomination application, or contact APW at (203) 736-8566.

  • Community Champions Past Winners:

  • Cathi Kellett,
    Girl Scout Troop 290
    Leader/ Program Coordinator for
    Griffin Hospital’s Valley Parish
    Nurse Program

    Marlene Anderson,
    Oxford resident/Board of
    Education Employee

    Richard Kearns,
    Seymour resident/
    Seymour Public Schools
    Director of Security

    Valley United Way
    Youth Leadership Group
    Jack Walsh – Valley United Way

    Richard O. Belden
    State Representative
    (Awarded Posthumously)

    Officer Joe DeFelice
    Seymour Police Department

    ComCast Cable Production Team:
    Elizabeth Kennard, Ken Fay,
    Ron Karkut, Mike Fay,
    Jerry Kosturko

    Wendy Baldino
    Derby resident

    William F. Bubbico
    Pitney Bowes,
    Vice President -
    Strategic Business Transformation